Tips, Tricks & Truths- Get To Know Kemper Snowboards Athlete Ryan Flaska

Ryan Flaska is a professional snowboarder who is originally from Michigan and moved to Utah in his early 20's. He is committed to his sport and simply loves spending time in the mountains and riding. Learn more about Flaska below!

When you are traveling and away from home for extended periods of time (for competition, training, etc) what meal do you crave the most?

The local cuisine  

How do you relax? Do you have any favourite hobbies that help you winddown?

I sit with my dog. She helps.

How have things changed for you and your training during this pandemic?

Jenga workout. Wrote exercises on the Jenga blocks and play Jenga.

Has the pandemic impacted how you can prepare for your sport? Will/Is your competition/race/etc schedule being impacted?

No I stay outside always…

What do you love most about Kemper Snowboards?

The shapes

What sets Kemper Snowboards apart from other brands?

Four-year warranty 

What is your favorite product? Why?

Apex. Goes from powder to park and is a blast to ride everywhere.

What do you expect from a brand that you work with?

I expect nothing, I hope we appreciate each other on the same level.

How long have you been working with Kemper Snowboards? How did that relationship start?

3 years. Reached out to the local rep.

What is the best advice you can give to younger athletes or aspiring snowboard athletes?

Don’t do it for money.

Do you have any tips for finding motivation to push through tough days?

The first step is always the hardest. 

Have you learned any travelling tips or tricks through your experiences?

Travel light, wear less clothes…

How do you prepare for your event? Do you have any tips for handling the stress or performance anxiety?

Loud music. Loud nights. Loud mornings. Loud contests. Out fun em. Do it for the love.

How do you cope with adversity in your sport? Whether it’s a bad day, bad weather, equipment failure, cancelled event, etc?

I’m from Michigan so there is no bad weather. Riding in the rain is a blast, even tried my first double in the rain... equipment failure? Ride it till the wheels fall off. I rode a contest with one binding after the first one broke, and still rode even after the second one broke…

Rapid-Fire Q&A

What is your least favourite type of music?

My friends call what I listen to “flaska music” my Spotify said I listen to music from 54 countries so I don’t know what to call it…

Do you snore?


What did you eat for breakfast?


What is your favourite movie?

O’ Brother, Where Art Thou?

Coffee or tea?

Coffee, though I make tea daily for my Irish wife.

What is your favourite season?


Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

Peanut butter 

Would you go to a movie alone?


Window or aisle seat?


Favourite ice cream flavour?

Ben and Jerry’s Cinnabon

(ed. note: interview has been edited for length and clarity)

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published